The Rose

A science fiction by P.D. Alleva

This post contains affiliate links. Click here for the full disclosure statement.

 

A masterful, dystopian science fiction thriller of underground genetic experiments, telepathic evil greys, mysterious rebellion, conspiracy, martial arts, and Alien Vampires.

Sandy Cox believed WW3 was over. But for those Alien Vampires, War Has Just Begun.

Forty-eight hours after a World War III treaty is signed Sandy Cox awakens in an underground compound unable to move. Tied to machines she screams for help but no one answers. At least NO ONE HUMAN.

And they’ve taken her unborn child.

Enter Phil, a rebel freedom fighter who has had more than his share of Alien Vampires. Armed with THE BLADES, a sacred alien martial art, he enters the compound on a mission to find Sandy. But as he battles his way through the compound, Phil discovers Sandy has her own agenda. Finding her stolen child is all that matters.

But the vampires have their own plan and Sandy’s baby is at the heart of their diabolical plot. Joined by a crew of rogue soldiers, they must navigate the underground compound, battling genetically mutated humans, aliens and monsters.

When battling Alien Vampires, one thing is certain…Get Ready To Bleed!

Fans of The Hunger Games, George RR Martin, VE Schwab, Star Wars and Ancient Aliens will be fascinated by this high-powered, intelligent, edge of your seat dystopian sci-fi action thriller.

Excerpt

“It’s in the blood, dear,” said Ellen, one of the women Sandy shared time and space with, her skin worn by age, hard labor, and days spent under the sun. Blotches, liver spots and creases led the observer to the eyes. One dark, the other a cataract milky white and she always wore a dark shawl draped over the head and shoulders. Sandy was afraid of Ellen, she reminded Sandy of a gypsy or witch from a fairy-tale.

“Come again?” said Sandy, her eyes shifting from soldier to Ellen to soldier then back to Ellen.

Ellen had cut herself transferring a wood bucket filled with rice to add to an already large trough of buckets. A thick wood splinter pinned in the bottom of her palm dripping with a thick stream of blood. She turned to Sandy raising the bloodied palm and caught a drop of blood in her unwounded hand.

“The blood dear,” said Ellen. “All magic comes from the blood.”

Sandy cringed at the sight; she’d always been squeamish. Her stomach bumped, blood curled. Magic, Sandy thought. If only magic was real. How wonderful would that be? Sandy understood she was naïve, the result of an isolated childhood and her parents’ death when she was ten years old. Not that they had taught the young Sandy about the world she lived in either. They’d kept her under lock and key, never so much as offering a glimpse or advice on the outside world. They were always so cryptic with their explanations, living in an abundant and overgrown mansion as if luxury were a childhood friend. Sure there were plenty of rooms for a child to explore but as time went by those rooms seemed more like a prison than a home.

Years of neglect, isolation and secrets were as torturous as physical suffering. And she was tired of secrets. She wanted to know truth. Truth was like a blanket that keeps you warm in the coldest winter.

“The blood, Sandy,” said Ellen who clenched her fist around those crimson droplets, shaking her hand in front of her face. “All is in the blood.”


~Buy The Rose on Amazon
~Follow the rest of the tour

Review

This book had a lot going on. Part conspiracy theory, part paranormal horror, part science fiction—you name it, it’s in here. The author did a great job of weaving multiple elements of several genres together in a way that made sense. Must give credit where credit is due.

For me, I wouldn’t say there was quite too much going on, but it was borderline. So, other readers may definitely feel differently. My biggest issue was actually the gore and violence. It was beyond my comfort level, and there were places I skimmed over to skip the images I didn’t wish to remember at two in the morning. I thought the book would have still worked fine with the violence dialed back a bit, but for those wanting the horror amped up, you’ll get it here.

All in all, this was fascinating, if not my cup of reading tea. I recommend this book to fans of sci-fi-horror, vampires-as-monsters (as opposed to love interests), and dark dystopian societies. The action drops on page one, and the tension stays strong throughout. Readers are in for a ride with this book.

About P.D. Alleva

 

PD Alleva is an alternative fiction author. His novels cross genres, blending mystery, conspiracy, psychology, and action with horror and dystopian science fiction. Alternative fiction is PD\’s attempt at describing what readers uncover in any one of his books, a new discovery towards mainstream storytelling. He\’s been writing since childhood, creating and developing stories with brash and impactful concepts that he would describe are metaphors for the shifting energies that exist in the universe. PD exists inside of his own universe, working diligently on The Rose Vol. II and exceptional horror novels. Be prepared for Golem, PD’s upcoming horror thriller.


Find him online:
website/newsletter
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Amazon

Giveaway

P.D. Alleva will be awarding a $75 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Blog

Never miss a post!
~Follow with RSS or…
Follow(function(d, s, id) {var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if (d.getElementById(id)) return;js = d.createElement(s);js.id = id;js.src = \”https://www.bloglovin.com/widget/js/loader.js?v=1\”;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);}(document, \”script\”, \”bloglovin-sdk\”))

7 thoughts on “Review+Giveaway: The Rose by P.D. Alleva

  1. Thank you for hosting and thank you for the wonderful review. Those alien vampires can be a bit scary and gory so I hope you're sleeping through the night and not up at 2am. A big HELLO to all the readers stopping by today, thank you for being here on the last day of the review tour. I'll be stopping in throughout the day so feel free to leave comments and ask any questions you may have. Happy Wednesday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s